2021 MLA Citation Awardees

The MLA Citation, the Association’s tribute for lifetime achievement, is awarded in recognition of distinguished service to music librarianship over a career. It is the highest honor we bestow. For 2021, we have three recipients of the MLA Citation. Beth Christensen As a leader and decision-maker at the national and regional levels of MLA over the […]

2021 MLA Award Recipients

As announced at the business meeting at the virtual annual conference on March 5, 2021, here are the recipients of the awards given by the Music Library Association. MLA Diversity Scholarship The MLA Diversity Scholarship Award offers candidates from under-represented groups the opportunity to pursue a master’s degree in library and information science (MLIS) with […]

Call for Applications: Walter Gerboth Award

Walter Gerboth

The Walter Gerboth Research Award was founded in 1984 by the Music Library Association to honor Past-President Walter Gerboth, librarian, teacher, mentor, leader in the Music Library Association, and pathmaker in music librarianship. The Walter Gerboth Award enables MLA to recognize promising work by its newer members (a group to which Walter Gerboth gave special […]

Call for Applications: Carol June Bradley Award

carol june bradley

The Carol June Bradley Award for Historical Research in Music Librarianship was created by the Music Library Association in 2003 through the generous financial support of its namesake. Since Ms. Bradley’s death in 2009, MLA has continued to fund the award in her honor. The award exists to support research in music, music bibliography and […]

Call for Applications: Dena Epstein Award

Dena Epstein

The Dena Epstein Award for Archival and Library Research in American Music was created in 1995 through a generous gift from Morton and Dena Epstein to the Music Library Association. Applications are currently being accepted for one or more grants to be awarded for the year 2021. The total amount of funding available is $5,700. […]