Administrative handbook

Table of Contents


The Music Library Association (MLA) functions according to the policies and procedures in the MLA Constitution and By-Laws. The Constitution and By-Laws take precedence over this document and all other administrative documents such as committee handbooks, special officer handbooks, etc. should conflicts arise.

The Administrative Handbook documents practices and general procedures for all entities in the MLA Administrative Structure, including the Board, committees, special officers, editors, interest groups, representatives to other organizations, external liaisons, and task forces. It also documents policies and procedures regarding MLA publications, and association-wide policies for MLA chapters.

The Administrative Handbook is maintained and updated by the Board member-at-large serving as Parliamentarian.

MLA maintains separate manuals for fiscal policy, available via login on the MLA site, and conventions. Some MLA committees, special officers, and editors maintain separate handbooks to document their work; these may be found on their pages on the MLA site or may be for their internal use only. The MLA Board maintains a Board Open Meeting Policy and Interest Group Guidelines. (rev. 9/2016)

II. Board of Directors

II.A General Information

(Sections of the Constitution and By-Laws applicable to this section: II.B; III.B.5, C, E.1, E.2, F.3; IV.A, B.1, C, D, E; V; VI.A-D, F; VII.A, C, D; VIII.A, B, E, F; IX.B, C, D; X.A, B, C; XI.) (rev. 4/2009) (rev. 3/2011) 

II.A.1 Charge

The Board of Directors administers and manages the affairs of the Music Library Association, formulates and executes its policies, and realizes its stated purposes. It acts in the name of the Association between its business meetings, and it may exercise all powers except those that are vested exclusively in the members. (rev. 5/2014)

II.A.2 Board Membership

The Board of Directors comprises the eleven officers of the Association. Nine of these officers are elected and are voting members of the Board: President, Vice-President/Past President, Recording Secretary, and six members-at-large; the Administrative Officer and Assistant Administrative Officer are appointed by the Board and may not vote. (rev. 3/2011)

II.A.3 Terms of Office

Officers serve until the adjournment of the final session of the annual meeting at which the names of their successors are made public. Elected officers of the Board of Directors serve for up to six consecutive years. Appointed officers serve up to four consecutive years. Officers elected to a two year term may serve in an appointed capacity for an additional four years. (rev. 3/2011) (rev. 5/2014)