Publication Awards Annual Report 2019

submitted by Allison McClanahan

Current Roster

  • Allison McClanahan, Chair (2020)
  • Treshani Perera, Member (2021)
  • Avery Boddie, Member (2022)

List of Previous Goals and Progress Made

At the 2019 MLA Annual Meeting in St. Louis, MO the following awards were announced:

Vincent H. Duckles Award: Inger Sørensen, J.P.E. Hartmann, Thematic-Bibliographic Catalogue of His Works, edited by Birthe Skou. Danish Humanist Texts and Studies, Volume 56 (Copenhagen: Dansk Center for Musikudgivelse, Det Kongelige Bibliotek, 2017).

Richard S. Hill Award:  Beth Iseminger, Nancy Lorimer, Casey Mullin, and Hermine Vermeij, “Faceted Vocabularies for Music: A New Era in Resource Discovery,” in Notes 73 no. 3 (2017): 409-431.

Eva Judd O’Meara Award: Derek Stauff, review of Volumes 1 and 8 of Andreas Hammerschmidt’s Gesamtausgabe, edited by Michael Heinemann, Sven Rössel, and Konstanze Kremtz (Altenburg: Verlag Klaus-Jürgen Kamprad, 2015-) in Notes 74, no. 1 (2017): 125-130.

Following the St. Louis meeting, Sandy Rodriguez finished her term as committee chair and rotated off the Committee. Allison McClanahan began her term as committee chair, and Avery Boddie was appointed as a new member of the Committee.

During the summer of 2019, the Committee reviewed and selected publications for consideration for the Vincent H. Duckles, Richard S. Hill, and Eva Judd O’Meara Awards for 2018 publications and submitted nominations to the MLA Board. Award recipients will be announced at the MLA Annual Meeting in Norfolk, VA in 2020.

List of Future Goals