Kevin Freeman Travel Grant Annual Report 2019

submitted by Jason Imbesi

Current Roster

  • Andy Leach, outgoing (2019)
  • Jason Imbesi, chair (2020)
  • Carlos Peña, member (2021)

List of Previous Goals and Progress Made


In 2018, the Committee received 10 applications in response to the call for the 2019 grant. The Committee recommended distributing the allotted budget of $2,400 among six applicants. The recipients were Jeannie Chen, Andrea Copland, Yuri Shimoda, Zachary Tumlin, Sarah Ward, and Ellen Ogihara.

We thank outgoing chair Andy Leach, who rotated off the Committee in 2019. We welcome Chris Durman as our newest member.

A call for applications for the 2020 grant was announced on July 9, 2019, with a deadline of September 27, 2019. The Committee will make recommendations to the Board and notify recipients in early November.

Previous Goal:

Creating a handbook for the Committee’s space on the MLA website: This is still in progress.

List of Future Goals

The Committee will continue with its policy to give at least one grant to an individual from an underrepresented minority group. This relates to the MLA Strategic Plan’s core value of inclusivity and the goal area of membership (Objective 1: Increase outreach efforts to members from underrepresented groups).