Awards: Publications Committee Annual Report 2020

submitted by Treshani Perera

Current Roster

  • Treshani Perera, chair (2021)
  • Sofia Becerra-Licha (2022)
  • Ryan Johnson (2023)

List of Previous Goals and Progress Made

  • At the MLA 2020 Annual Meeting in Norfolk, Virginia, the following awards were announced:
    • Vincent H. Duckles Award: John Gray. Music of Sub-Saharan Africa: An International Bibliography and Resource Guide. Black Music Reference Series. Nyack, NY: African Diaspora Press, 2018.
    • Richard S. Hill Award: Joe C. Clark, Sheridan Stormes, and Jonathan Sauceda. “Format Preferences of Performing Arts Students: A Multi institution Study.” The Journal of Academic Librarianship 44, no. 5 (2018): 620-626.
    • Eva Judd O’Meara Award: Edward Komara. “The Original Blues: The Emergence of the Blues in African American Vaudeville by Lynn Abbott and Doug Seroff (review).” Notes 74, no. 4 (2018): pp. 658-661.
  • Two new members were added to the committee: Sofia Becerra-Licha (two-year term) and Ryan Johnson (three-year term).
  • The committee revised the guidelines document to address unclear and ambiguous language related to online publications for the Duckles Awards.
  • The committee reviewed nominations and made recommendations for the 2021 Hill and O’Meara awards. Nominations review for the 2021 Duckles award is currently in progress.

List of Future Goals