Archives and Special Collections Committee Annual Report 2020

submitted by Maristella Feustle

Current Roster

  • Maristella J. Feustle, Chair, 2019-2023
  • Sofia Becerra-Licha, Member, 2017-2021
  • Jane Cross, Member, 2019-2023
  • Frank Ferko, Member, 2019-2023
  • Thomas Pease, Member, 2019-2023
  • Jennifer Wochner, Member, 2019-2023
  • Stacey Krim, Member, 2020-2024
  • Christopher Lynch, Member, 2020-2024
  • Matthew Testa, Member, 2020-2024
  • Melissa E. Wertheimer, Member, 2020-2024

List of Previous Goals and Progress Made

  • Resume ongoing committee activity
    • Activity resumed.
  • Add new members
    • Three new members added since February meeting in Norfolk.
  • Update web page, “Archival Resources for Music Librarians”
    • Page updated with links for terminology, best practice guidelines, and resources for discovery.
  • Update main committee page with link to the finished, Guidelines for Archival Description of Notated Music, A Supplement to Describing Archives: A Content Standard, as approved by the Society of American Archivists, and the larger document, Archival Description of Notated Music (ADNM), on Humanities Commons.
    • Page updated with Guidelines. Request sent to add ADNM.

List of Future Goals

  • Continue updating “Archival Resources for Music Librarians” web page [goal area: Organizational excellence]
  • Feasibility study of an “ask an archivist” function on the main committee web page. [goal areas: Organizational excellence; membership]